The Girl from the Sea (Paperback)

The Girl from the Sea Cover Image
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Sep 23 4:43pm

May/June 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“Molly has swirled together an amazing story of first love, changing friends, and environmental justice with a hint of magic and mystery. Fans of The Magic Fish and Heartstopper will find this a perfect new graphic novel for the teen reader.”
— Jessica Palacios, Once Upon a Time, Montrose, CA

Description


From the author of The Witch Boy trilogy comes a graphic novel about family, romance, and first love.

Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish high school and escape her sad divorced mom, her volatile little brother, and worst of all, her great group of friends...who don't understand Morgan at all. Because really, Morgan's biggest secret is that she has a lot of secrets, including the one about wanting to kiss another girl.Then one night, Morgan is saved from drowning by a mysterious girl named Keltie. The two become friends and suddenly life on the island doesn't seem so stifling anymore.But Keltie has some secrets of her own. And as the girls start to fall in love, everything they're each trying to hide will find its way to the surface...whether Morgan is ready or not.

About the Author


Molly Knox Ostertag is the New York Times bestselling author and illustrator of the acclaimed Witch Boy trilogy: The Witch Boy, The Hidden Witch, and The Midwinter Witch, as well as a writer for animation. A graduate of the School of Visual Arts, Molly was featured in the Forbes 30 Under 30: Media list in 2020. She lives in Los Angeles with her wife, two cats, and a very cuddly dog. You can visit her online at mollyostertag.com.

Praise For…


Praise for The Witch Boy* "Leaves readers wishing for more." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review* "Brims with life." -School Library Journal, starred review"Thrilling." -Hope Larson, author of All Summer LongPraise for The Hidden Witch* "Absolutely bewitching." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review"Vivid and vibrant . . . A great comic for magic fans." -BooklistPraise for The Midwinter Witch"A heartwarming, wintry adventure." -School Library Journal"Should please fans and newcomers alike." -Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The Witch Boy* "Leaves readers wishing for more." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review* "Brims with life." -School Library Journal, starred review"Thrilling." -Hope Larson, author of All Summer LongPraise for The Hidden Witch* "Absolutely bewitching." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review"Vivid and vibrant . . . A great comic for magic fans." -BooklistPraise for The Midwinter Witch"A heartwarming, wintry adventure." -School Library Journal"Should please fans and newcomers alike." -Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781338540574
ISBN-10: 1338540572
Publisher: Graphix
Publication Date: June 1st, 2021
Pages: 256
Language: English